Tags

, , , , , , ,

I started the stripping stage of my dresser, and began with the dresser drawers.  The old paint came off very easily in long strips without need for a commercial stripper. It reminded me unfrosting a cake.  Stripping the drawers was fast work and when I was done, I moved on to the top of the dresser.

The top required a little more elbow grease and a cold beer, but wasn’t too difficult,  I was lured into believing the sides of the dresser would be just as easy.  Maybe, I thought, I could skip a commercial stripper altogether, except for the trim and the front of the dresser, which had the most trim.

dresser 5

dresser 7

Boy was I wrong.

The sides were a nightmare.  The paint wouldn’t even flake no matter how much I scrapped and swore.  I had to break down and get a commercial stripper in order to complete the job.

I had a major concern about using a stripper.  I knew I could only work on my dresser after work and the weather forecast was calling for rain.  We don’t have a garage and working on it outside wasn’t an option because of the rain.  I had to do everything inside and needed to find a stripper that didn’t have toxic fumes that would harm my family.

Luckily, 3M makes a product called Safest Stripper.  It is a paste stripper that can be used indoor and does not have a strong odor.  It also promised to work quickly.  I picked up a bottle at the local hardware store and couldn’t wait to try it.

dresser 6

In the meantime, I decided on purple.

dresser 8

To be continued . . .

