Tags

,

On July 10th, I had eye surgery to correct my myopic vision.  The procedure I had is called PRK (Photorefractive Keratectomy) and has an extended healing period.  Unlike the better known LASIK procedure, PRK is a doctor prescribed corneal abrasion, then a zapping with the laser. Finally, a blank contact lens is placed over the eye.  PRK is the safest and most conservative refractive laser surgery procedure, which is partly why I chose it.

But, it has a longer healing period.  I had a huge ‘impressive’ eyeglasses prescription which adds to the healing period.  I couldn’t see the big E on the screen without my eyeglasses.  Contacts were OK but if I had to wear them more than socially, they would bother me.  So I had PRK.

It’s been six weeks since I had surgery and I’m a million times better than I was.  I’m a functioning blurry visioned person and my eye doctor is pleased with my prognosis.  But I’m getting antsy because my photography has been put on the back burner.

I don’t see well enough to appreciate the subtle nuances in the editing process.  When I’m shooting, I can’t tell if the image is blurred because I can’t see if properly or because it was a bad capture to begin with.  It’s very frustrating.  Readers don’t seem to help and I find myself avoiding photography completely, which is depressing since it’s my passion.

I’ve mentioned my concerns to my doctor and he keeps telling me that it’ll take time for things to clear.  He isn’t concerned at all.  It’s good news, but I feel stuck in a ‘hurry up and wait’ period.

I knew I was in for a long healing process.  I knew it could take up to three months for my vision to clear and another three moths for it to stabilize.  I also knew that there is a good chance that I’ll have to have a touch up, because my original perscription was so impressive.  But what I didn’t know was how hard it would be to not have photography in my life.  Sure, I still carry a camera with me and keep up with my 365 Days of Awesomeness photography project, but what I miss most is the art of photography.  I miss creating my own vision of a performance and showing it to the world.  Snap shots of cats and wine glasses aren’t the same thing.

I know I’ll get better.  I know one day I’ll wake up and everything will be crystal clear.  But that day is weeks, if not months ahead of me.  In the meantime, I’ll just have to continue to enjoy my new vision and the daily reminders that I can see something I couldn’t see without my eyeglasses.  Guess I just have to ‘hurry up and wait’.

