Tags

,

Earlier this month, I mapped out the twelve 2015 Yummy Day celebrations that my husband and I decided on.  Each potential ‘dates’ were written on a piece of paper and placed in a container (currently a Ziploc container but I hope to upgrade to much nicer Yummy Day Jar).  On the first few days of the month, we draw a date to celebrate on the weekend closest to the 17th or 21st of each month.

Nashville SkylineFor January, we drew ‘Be a Tourist in our own town’, which is Nashville.  Because the weather has been a little screwy, I was a bit apprehensive of playing tourist in freezing temperatures, but my fears are for naught.  This weekend, the temperature is going to soar to the upper 50s and there is a familiar looking yellow orb in the sky that hasn’t been seen for two weeks.  It’s going to be a beautiful weekend!

One of Nashville’s favorite tourist areas is Lower Broadway downtown.  This is where all the honkey tonks, tourist shops, karaoke bars and chain restaurants are located.   It is a place we know well, but usually avoid unless we’re covering an event. This weekend, we’re going there ‘on purpose’ and will patronize the hot spots that include Tootsies Orchid Lounge, The Stage, and Robert’s Western World.  We’ll browse the shops that tempt tourist with cowboy boots, sparkly belt buckles and cowboy hats.  We may even tour the Ryman and go on a carriage ride.

I will be armed with my camera to capture all the moments and will share our adventure in a coming post.

Have a great weekend!

