Tags

,

FW 23

Happy New Year!  2014 is in the past and 2015 is full of promise.  I’m very blessed to work with my husband  (he’s a music journalist and my booking agent), and our calendar for this year is already quite full.  We’re hoping to make several trips to Canada as well to catch up with old friends.  It’s going to be a great year.

Of course,  I was just as excited about 2014 as I am about this year (I’m an eternal optimistic).  2014 had some great photography successes, but it had a lot of personal lows.  People I loved verbally abused and belittled me before walking out on me.  In time I realised their abrupt exit was a blessing as I didn’t need people like that in my life, but the scars they left behind healed very slowly.  They were two good friends and I thought we’d grow old together, but it wasn’t meant to be.  I also was lied to repeatedly, lost a job I loved and had gear stolen.

In 2014 I’ve learned that sometimes you fall down. Sometimes someone will push you down and sometimes a real bastard will try to hold you down. It’s OK to fall, just make sure you pick yourself up.  My dream is to be the best photographer I can be. We left safe harbours to chase that dream. If you have a dream, keep moving and chasing it. Don’t worry about taking a step back to reassess your dream. As step back is still movement, just don’t stop.

Life is so precious and short. My New Year’s resolution is to not take it for granted.  I hope I can inspire other dreamers to follow their heart. It may be a tough journey at times but it will be worth it.

Happy New Year.

